About College


This polytechnic was started by late Sri Raja Rameshwar Rao of Wanaparthy and inaugurated by our honorable first Prime Minister of India Sri PANDIT JAWAHAR LAL NEHRU on the auspicious day of Vijaya Dashimi on 11TH OCTOBER 1959. Some important political personalities like Sri Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy the then Chief Minister of A.P., Sri Kasu Bramhananda Reddy the then Minister for planning, Sri S.B. Pattabi Ramaiah the then Minister for Education, Sri D. Sanjeevaiah Minister for Labour, Sri P. Thimma Reddy the then Minister Agriculture graced the inaugural function.

The Honorable Prime Minister Sri Pandit Javaharlal Nehru in his message expressed his desire that the outgoing students of this institution should serve the society not only in Andhra Pradesh but also Globally.

This institute started with three courses, L.C.E., L.E.E., and L.M.E. with an intake of forty in each branch totaling to 120 with full fledged infrastructure including Hostel accommodation for boy’s students. This institution was under private management up to 07-07-1970 and it was taken over by the Govt. of A.P. on 08-07-1970.

In the beginning era of the institution many students from different part of country and also from neighboring countries like Bhutan and Bangladesh have studied at this institution and enriched their lives.

It earned a special name in the state of Andhra Pradesh by giving education to the students of all districts of A.P. Most of the students who studied at this institution have become engineers and occupied prominent position in society all over the country and abroad by fulfilling the dreams of our first Prime Minister Sri Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru.

Gradually some other courses like Diploma in commercial practice, Diploma in Applied Electronics and Instrumentation Engineering, Diploma in Pharmacy were introduced. Now the intake in to all the six courses in to First Year is 360 and this polytechnic is accommodating about 1000 students in total for all the three years.

PolyCET-2017 Information booklet

Copy right @ 2015.

Designed and Developed by Centre for Good Governance